Is Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Mandatory in Kentucky?

Since 1974, all Kentucky motor vehicle operators must carry liability insurance. The minimum policy requirements are $25,000 per incident and $50,000 per claim, with $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP). PIP is not mandatory, but in order to opt out you must sign off in writing to your insurance company; otherwise it is included by default, regardless of where you purchased your insurance.

Failure to carry liability insurance is an enhanceable offense. For a first offense, you will be fined not less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or sentenced to not more than ninety (90) days in jail, or both. KRS 304.99-060(1)(a)(1). You can also have your motor vehicle registration on the the vehicle revoked for one (1) year. KRS 304.99-060(1)(a)(2).

For a second and each subsequent offense within any five (5) year period, your operator’s license will be revoked in accordance with KRS 186.560, and you may be sentenced to one hundred and eighty (180) days in jail, or fined not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), or both. KRS 304.99-060(1)(a)(3).

Proof of insurance is also required when registering or transferring a motor vehicle.

If you or a loved one have been involved in a motor vehicle accident, you need competent and experienced counsel to help you with your case. Do not delay, call Larry Forman today.

SEND THE DUI GUY A MESSAGE

* Indicates required field

Larry Forman Law, PLLC

Connect with Larry

Contact

Forman & Associates
The Lion Building
717 West Market St., Ste. 2
Louisville, KY 40202

(O) (502) 931-6788
(F) (419) 574-7156
Email: larry@larryformanlaw.com